Musings of a Feline Foster Dad

Home » Dante » Kitten Dante Goes to the Vet

Kitten Dante Goes to the Vet

Instagram

No Instagram images were found.

I have been fortunate in that vet visits for my foster cats have been few and far between. The last time a foster went to the vet was almost a year ago when Rachel went for a rabies vaccination. Today kitten Dante had to go to the vet. The car ride was a little upsetting for him but he handled it like the professional kitten he is. When he got to the vet he really was on his best behavior and was OK to sit on my lap in the waiting room.

There was a puppy in the waiting room putting on a show and it did not phase him at all. He just sat there and watched the puppy. When it came time for the vet tech to take his temperature that is when he got really upset and his fighting spirit came out. I hung out with him until the veterinarian arrived so she could look at him and do her initial assessment.

The vet took a quick look at him and thought he may have a gastrointestinal problem because his inside third eyelid is slow to go back when he blinks. She wanted to to hold him for further tests and to see about getting more food into him. I left him and came home hoping for the best. When I got home Spencer was there to welcome me. I sat down on the sofa and he just jumped on my shoulder and laid down and started purring.

It was out of character for him but I guess he figured I needed a friend and he was there. Afterwards I discovered that the vet diagnosed him with Exocrine pancreatic insufficiency which means his pancreas isn’t doing his job. He is getting put on digestive enzymes and hopefully that does it for him.

He returns home tomorrow and hopefully he goes back to bouncing around like the rubber ball he is.


1 Comment

  1. Luanne says:

    Virtual cheek scratches to Dante!

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4,929 other subscribers
Follow Musings of a Feline Foster Dad on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 31,823 hits